IFIP EGOV-JeDEM-ePart is one of the core conferences in digital government. An overview of references is maintained in the Digital Government Reference Library (DGRL).

Special Issues Government Information Quarterly (GIQ) and Journal of eDemocracy and Open Government (JeDEM) 2021

Each year the best papers are invited to submit to GIQ and JeDEM. The best paper winners will be invited to submit their revised papers to GIQ following a fast-track reviewing process, runners up will be invited to submit to a JeDEM special issues which will be published in 2022.

Award Categories

Three types of paper awards are used. These are loosely aligned with the types of papers the IFIP EGOV-EPART conference was looking for:

Category 1 – The most innovative research contribution or case study. Awards the paper with the most out-­of‐the‐box and forward-looking idea and concept. Relevance is more important than rigor.

Category 2 – The most compelling, critical research reflection. Awards the paper with the most compelling critical reflection on and discussion of a relevant research topic.

Category 3 – The most promising practical concept. Awards the paper delivering a concept or solution with the highest potential to have a high impact in e-government implementations and applications.

Selection Process

Step 1 (after submission): Nomination All research and ongoing papers submitted to the conference are “eligible” for the prize. Papers submitted to the conference are reviewed by independent reviewers and nominated as for one of the Awards during the double-blind review process.

Step 2: Shortlist On the basis of the papers that gained the greatest number of nominations and highest peer-review scores during from the review process, the Outstanding Paper Awards Committee prepares a shortlist of papers for each of the 3 Award categories.

Step 3: Selection All the Track Directors review the shortlisted camera-ready papers on the basis of the following criteria per awards category: The originality of this paper’s contribution to knowledge (usefulness of the information and generalisability to research and/or policy development); The quality of the paper’s writing (accuracy, clarity readability, and organisation of the paper)

Step 4: Final Decision The Awards Committee considers the papers suggested and may take a final decision in case of a tie.

Best Paper Awards committee

  • Noella Edelmann, Danube University Krems, Austria (Chair)
  • Evangelos Kalampokis, University of Macedonia, Greece  (Chair)
  • Manuel Pedro Rodríguez Bolivar, University of Granada, Spain
  • Habin Lee, Brunel University London, United Kingdom
  • Tomasz Janowksi, Gdansk University of Technology, Poland / Danube University Krems, Austria)
  • Gianluca Misuraca, European Commission Joint Research Centre, Spain
  • Panos Panagiotopoulos, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
  • Barbara Re, University of Camerino, Italy
  • Jolien Ubacht, Delft University of Technology, The Netherland